# Minutes for the Reorganization Meeting of the Ambridge Area School District held in the High School Cafeteria on Wednesday, December 4, 2024.

- I. Mr. Carpenter called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00 p.m.
- II. Mr. Carpenter asked all present to rise for the Flag Salute
- III. Appointment of Temporary Chairperson of Meeting: Ms. Megan Turnbull

Mrs. Fischer moved to approve the appointment of Ms. Turnbull, seconded by Miss Fitsko. All in favor.

- IV. Election of President of Ambridge Area Board of Directors for the 2025 term. Mr. John Carpenter
- V. Election of Vice-President of Ambridge Area Board of Directors for the 2025 term. Mrs. Valerie Scott
- VI. Election of Treasurer of Ambridge Area Board of Directors for the 2025 term. Mr. Garrett Kovacevic

Miss Fitsko made a motion to nominate slate one - Mr. Zatchey for president, Miss Fitsko for vice president, and Mr. Kovacevic for treasurer, seconded by Mrs. Romasco. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, Mrs. Scott and Mr. Carpenter voted no.

Mrs. Fischer made a motion to nominate slate two - Mr. Carpenter as president, Mrs. Kehoe as vice president and Mrs. Scott as treasurer, seconded by Mrs. Scott. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Kovacevic, Mrs. Romasco, and Mr. Zatchey voted no.

Mrs. Romasco made a motion to close the nominations, seconded by Miss Fitsko. All in favor.

Mrs. Romasco nominated Mr. Zatchey as president. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, Mr. Kovacevic, Mrs. Scott, and Mr. Carpenter voted no.

Mrs. Fischer nominated Mr. Carpenter as president. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Romasco, and Mr. Zatchey voted no.

Mrs. Romasco made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Miss Fitsko. All in favor.

Mrs. Scott nominated Mrs. Kehoe as vice president. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Kovacevic, Mrs. Romasco, and Mr. Zatchey voted no.

Mrs. Romasco nominated Miss Fitsko as vice president. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, Mrs. Scott, and Mr. Carpenter voted no.

Mrs. Fischer motions to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Romasco. All in favor.

Ms. Turnbull opens the floor again to nominations for vice president.

Miss Fitsko nominated Mr. Zatchey as vice president. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, Mrs. Scott, and Mr. Carpenter voted no.

Mrs. Fischer nominated Mrs. Kehoe as vice president. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Kovacevic, Mrs. Romasco, and Mr. Zatchey voted no.

Mr. Carpenter nominated Mrs. Fischer as vice president. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Kovacevic, Mrs. Romasco, and

2

Mr. Zatchey voted no.

December 4, 2024

Mrs. Fischer motioned to move item V., seconded by Miss Fitsko. All in favor.

Mrs. Romasco nominated Mr. Kovacevic for treasurer. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, and Mrs. Scott voted no.

Mrs. Romasco moved to close nominations. All in favor.

VII. Schedule times and places for the Regular Monthly Meetings of the Board of Education according to School Code Section 421 and the Meet and Discuss Meetings. The following meeting dates are proposed for January 2025 through November 2025:

January 2025	Meet and Discuss (Wednesday) 1/8/2025 High School	Regular Meeting (Wednesday) 1/15/2025 High School
February 2025	(Wednesday) 2/12/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 2/19/2025 High School
March 2025	(Wednesday) 3/12/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 3/19/2025 High School
April 2025	(Wednesday) 4/9/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 4/16/2025 High School
May 2025	(Wednesday) 5/14/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 5/21/2025 High School
June 2025	(Wednesday) 6/11/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 6/18/2025 High School
July 2025		(Wednesday) 7/9/2025 High School (If needed)
August 2025	(Wednesday) 8/13/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 8/20/2025 High School
September 2025	(Wednesday) 9/10/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 9/17/2025 High School
October 2025	(Wednesday) 10/8/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 10/15/2025 High School
November 2025	(Wednesday) 11/12/2025 High School	(Wednesday) 11/19/2025 High School

Meet and Discuss Meetings are scheduled for the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m., and Regular Board Meetings are scheduled the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. (unless otherwise changed by approval of Board). The Reorganization Meeting will be held the first week of December 2025. All meetings will be held at the High School. The Board may take legislative action on matters that come before the Board at the Meet and Discuss Board Meeting.

Mr. Carpenter moved to accept meeting dates, seconded by Mrs. Scott. The vote in favor was unanimous.

# VIII. Appointment of Board and Committee Representatives

#### 1. Mr. Carpenter Appointed of Committee Chairs:

Education & Technology Mrs. Kelly Romasco Finance & Budget Mr. Matthew Zatchey\_ Mr. William Metz **Building and Grounds** Mrs. Cathleen Fischer Athletics **Public Relations** Miss Amy Fitsko\_ Steering and Rules Mrs. Mary Jo Kehoe Legislation Miss Amy Fitsko Personnel Mrs. Valerie Scott Salary Schedule and Labor Relations Mr. Garrett Kovacevic

# **Appointment of Committee Representatives**

# 2. Reorganization Ballot

It is recommended that the 2024 ballots be cast for the 2025 officers of the Beaver Valley Joint School Board, the Beaver Valley Joint School Committee and The Beaver County Career & Technology Center Joint School Board. The term of office for this reorganization is a one-year term beginning July 1, 2025, and ending June 30, 2026.

Ms. Turnbull made a motion to approve item 2. All in favor.

#### 3. Laughlin Memorial Free Library Representative

It is recommended that <u>Mr. Matthew Zatchey</u> and <u>Mr. Garrett Kovacevic</u> be appointed to serve as the Ambridge Area School Board representative for the Laughlin Memorial Library for the 2025 term.

Ms. Turnbull made a motion to approve item 3. All in favor.

# V. Election of Vice-President of Ambridge Area Board of Directors for the 2025 term. Mrs. Valerie Scott

Mr. Carpenter nominated Mrs. Young as vice president. Miss Fitsko, Mr. Kovacevic, and Mrs. Romasco voted no.

Miss Fitsko nominated Mrs. Romasco.

Miss Fitsko motioned to close the nomination, seconded by Mrs. Romasco. All in favor.

Mr. Carpenter moved to appoint Mr. Kovacevic as treasurer for the balance of the school year due to the vacancy with Mrs. Scott being appointed as vice president, seconded by Mr. Zatchey. Mrs. Fischer, Mrs. Kehoe, and Mrs. Scott voted no.

Mrs. Fischer nominated Mrs. Kehoe to fill the vacancy.

#### IX. Adjournment

Miss Fitsko moved to adjourn to voting meeting, seconded by Mrs. Romasco. All in favor.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mrs. June Mueller, Board Secretary